

December 14, 2020

San Diego County Board of Supervisors 1600 Pacific Highway San Diego, CA 92101

Dear County Supervisors:

I write on behalf of our 1,300 small business members who have been laboring since March to stay in business while following the Covid 19 rules imposed by the state and county. Our members have been heavily impacted by the new regional stay at home order as a result of San Diego being included in the Southern California region. We strongly request that you work with the Governor to have San Diego County removed from the "Southern California" region and stand on its own merits

The restrictions imposed on our members are inappropriate for San Diego. Taken in isolation, San Diego County's ICU bed availability has not yet reached the threshold to trigger the closures we are being forced to endure. These conditions have been unfairly imposed on our county and penalize us for doing the right thing. In Hillcrest, our members had been following the rules of the purple tier and are now being penalized further simply because of a seemingly arbitrary line drawn on a map.

Under these circumstances, it is also critical that you work to provide direct financial support for businesses who are following the closure rules. Businesses and neighborhoods that are following the rules should be supported financially as an incentive for them to continue to follow the rules. Businesses that are not following the rules should be penalized.

Your immediate assistance is vital to help us support small businesses in San Diego. Thank you for your attention to this matter.

Yours sincerely,

Paul Smith Board President



Copy: Honorable Mayor Todd Gloria; Honorable Councilmember Joe LaCava, District 1; Honorable Council President Jennifer Campbell, District 2; Honorable Councilmember Stephen Whitburn, District 3; Honorable Councilmember Monica Montgomery, District 4; Honorable Councilmember Marni von Wilpert, District 5; Honorable Councilmember Chris Cate, District 6; Honorable Councilmember Raul Campillo, District 7; Honorable Councilmember Vivian Moreno, District 8; & Honorable Councilmember Sean Elo-Rivera, District 9.